Combining results

Forum for discussing PicoLog
Post Reply
laztech
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:46 am

Combining results

Post by laztech » Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:54 am

Hi, I'm a lab tech in Lithuania.
I used a PicoLog 1012 with 10 connected DUT's to determine whether a switch connects at any time during a vibration test.
I currently have 36 .plw files with about 1M rows of data each. I was wondering if there is any way to combine them and see the entire results on one graph, instead of separate 15 minute logs.
Thanks in advance. Sorry if this question has been asked already. I couldn't find one.

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Combining results

Post by Gerry » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:20 am

Hi laztech,

If you are saving off 36 data files every 15 minutes, then your total capture time is short enough to use PicoScope to capture all of the data at once and then save it to a .mat file. The .mat file can be read by Matlab if you have it, or Gnu Octave (which is free to download and use) if you don't.

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

laztech
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:46 am

Re: Combining results

Post by laztech » Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:50 am

Hi Gerry,

Sorry, I should have been more specific.

I logged voltage off of 10 devices each millisecond for about 9 hours. And in this case each log can have about 15 minutes of data, which resulted in 36 different files with 1 million rows each. In this case I just took out each graph separately.
But for future reference, is it possible to combine the data into one graph?

Thanks.

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Combining results

Post by Gerry » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:10 am

Hi laztech,

Is importing all of the data into a tool that isn't so well geared up for visualizing that much data what you really want to do? Bear in mind that there will be a limit to how much data you can display even on a 4K monitor, and you can't zoom in Excel like you can in PicoLog 5/6 or PicoScope 6.

If you really want to have the freedom to analyze the data how you want to, you need to either find a tool that does exactly what you want, or create your own application, using our Software Development Kit (see here: https://www.picotech.com/library/oscill ... nt-kit-sdk) and select a development environment that you would be comfortable using (including, for instance, Labview doesn't require any coding).

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Post Reply