PicoScope removes USB-Oscilloscope

Forum for discussing PicoScope version 6 (non-automotive version)
Post Reply
NetoLE
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:43 pm

PicoScope removes USB-Oscilloscope

Post by NetoLE » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:55 pm

I hope the title is suitable.

I'm experiencing a problem with mit USB Oscilloscope. If I connect it with the PC it's found and shown in the Device manager under "Pico Technology Instruments" (It's a 3000 Series, 3403D). As soon as I start the PicoScope Software it removes the device from the list and shows "no suitable device found". The trace.xml shows like this:

Code: Select all

Trace opened 01.02.2017. 
  Using default culture: German (Germany). 
  Splash shown after 920,7237ms 
  Begin 
  Cleanup 
  Application 'PicoScope 6' (version 6.11.12.1692) starting. 
  9F493E00AA639BB6FEE54A030F4734F7 
  User is not Guest 
  No Administrator Privileges 
  Running Unrestricted 
  OS Version - Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 
  .net Version - 4.0.30319.42000 
  Current Directory - C:\Program Files (x86)\Pico Technology\PicoScope6 
  Begin 
  Manufacturer: Dell Inc., Model: OptiPlex 7020 
  Total Physical Memory 8529334272 
  Found device 0CE9_1213 
  Complete 
  Attempting to load ps3000a.dll 
  ModuleInitPass Hs 
  Finished loading ps3000a.dll 
  Opening device using DLL ps3000a.dll 
  Processor Count - 1 
  CPU0 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590 CPU @ 3.30GHz 
  CPU0 Architecture: 9, Address Width: 64 
  Command Line - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Pico Technology\PicoScope6\PicoScope.exe" 
  Settings file version - 11.2.0 
  Preferences file version - 2.0.0 
  Probes file version - 1.0.0 
  Data file binary header version - 1 
  Removing 
  No test menu file found 
  Creating 
  Done Create 
  Opening device unsuccessful. Error UnitNotFound 
  No of Devices Found: 0 
  Complete 
I uninstalled driver and software and reinstalled it, but that doesn't solve the problem. Doesn't matter if software form the CD or newest update from the website. OS is Windows 7, PC a DELL Optiplex 7020. No other USB devices on USB Controller,but mouse and keyboard. Connected with a Intel USB 3.0-Port and the cable out of the box.

best regards
Felix

Hitesh
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 2856
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:43 pm
Location: St. Neots, Cambridgeshire

Re: PicoScope removes USB-Oscilloscope

Post by Hitesh » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:28 am

Hello Felix,

Please check that your USB chipset drivers are up to date (these can be obtained from the Dell Support pages).

It might also be a case of insufficient power for the power-up process when the connection to the device is opened. Are you able to try a different USB cable or powered USB hub?

Does the PicoScope have any issues on another PC?

Regards,
Hitesh

Software Dev. Engineer

NetoLE
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:43 pm

Re: PicoScope removes USB-Oscilloscope

Post by NetoLE » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:03 am

Thanks.

Updating the chipset and USB 3.0 driver from the DELL Homepage fixed it. The following happened (just so you know):
After rebooting after installing, I put in the USB 3.0 cable from PicoScope and it showed up in the device manager like before. After starting PicoScope it disappeared again, but now the symbol and tooltip for "installing new device" showed up and it installed the PicoScope driver again successfully it seems and It was recognized by the Pico-Software and is working.

Btw.: the bug didn't happen always before. After trying a lot and writing the topic I just tried again yesterday (before installing new drivers for chipset and USB) and is suddenly surprisingly worked. After that in the morning today (also before installing new drivers) it didn't work again.

thanks again for the help.

best regards

Felix

Hitesh
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 2856
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:43 pm
Location: St. Neots, Cambridgeshire

Re: PicoScope removes USB-Oscilloscope

Post by Hitesh » Fri Feb 03, 2017 7:50 am

Hi Felix,

Good to hear that the updated chipset drivers have resolved the issue :D

Regards,
Hitesh

Software Dev. Engineer

Post Reply