Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post any questions you may have about our current range of oscilloscopes
JimThieser
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:44 pm

Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by JimThieser »

Hi together,
I'm working with a 3000er series with HP Vee Software.
Sometimes when my programm died I can not use the scope again without pulling out the USB connector from the Laptopo..
Any ideas why is it in this way???

Thanks

Jim

Hitesh
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 2856
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:43 pm
Location: St. Neots, Cambridgeshire

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by Hitesh »

Hi Jim,

This is because the call to the function to close the unit (ps3000CloseUnit) has not been made so the PicoScope dll still has a 'lock' on the unit.

If you are able to catch the error when the program crashes, perhaps you can make a call to the function to close the unit.

Regards,
Hitesh

Software Dev. Engineer

JimThieser
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:44 pm

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by JimThieser »

Hi thanks for the answer..
is there maybe another possibility to deal with it??
change dll or something else??

thanks a lot

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3825
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by Martyn »

You may be able to kill any remaining processes linked to application in task manager, otherwise you will need to look at what is causing your application to crash.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

fernandoluiz
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by fernandoluiz »

when i use the picoscope 6.0 happens this.
what the process i may kill?

killing the process, if i will open the picoscope again it works correctly?

Hitesh
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 2856
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:43 pm
Location: St. Neots, Cambridgeshire

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by Hitesh »

Hi,

Try closing PicoScope using the 'X' button. Pull the USB cable out of the PC - if the 'Check USB cable' message appears click 'Cancel'.

Next either close PicoScope and restart it or click File -> Connect Device.

The other option is to open Task Manager (click Ctrl + Alt + Delete), and find the process named 'PicoScope.exe' in the Processes tab. Select it, then click 'End Process' to close the application.

Regards,
Hitesh

Software Dev. Engineer

fernandoluiz
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by fernandoluiz »

i tryied kill the process but does'nt works.
it's possible call the close unit function (ps3000_close_unit()) of dll?

Hitesh
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 2856
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:43 pm
Location: St. Neots, Cambridgeshire

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by Hitesh »

Hi Fernando,

Have you got Administrator privileges? The other option is to unplug the device, reboot the PC, and plug the device back in again.

Regards,
Hitesh

Software Dev. Engineer

fernandoluiz
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by fernandoluiz »

yes, i have the administrator privileges and i can't close the process picoscope.exe in the task manager and in the cmd with the comand taskkill.i can't unplug and plug the device because i will acess the pc remotly

Hitesh
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 2856
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:43 pm
Location: St. Neots, Cambridgeshire

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by Hitesh »

Hi Fernando,

How far away is the device from you? Can you ask someone to unplug and replug the device?

It might be worth installing PicoScope 6.6.16 on your PC as well.

If you are running PicoScope, you will not be able to call the close_unit() function as you would need to establish a connection to the device first.

Are there any other USB devices connected to the PC? Is it connected directly to the PC or via a powered USB hub?

Regards,
Hitesh

Software Dev. Engineer

fernandoluiz
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by fernandoluiz »

i'am a far far ayaw from the device, and nobody can unplu and replug the device because the pc is in a remote location.

exists a mouse usb connected on notebook and the device is connected directly on the pc

Hitesh
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 2856
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:43 pm
Location: St. Neots, Cambridgeshire

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by Hitesh »

Hi Fernando,

Please can you reply to the last e-mail received from our Helpdesk system please? It will help to keep track of your issue.

If you can clarify whether it is the PicoScope 6 application or your own application that is crashing that would be helpful.

Presumably you can reboot the PC remotely?

Thanks,
Hitesh

Software Dev. Engineer

fernandoluiz
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by fernandoluiz »

i can reboot the pc remotly and sometimes the device backs to normal.

i will send the email for you.

fernandoluiz
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by fernandoluiz »

i discovered that when pico brokes its energy state is d3(off), not d0(fully-on).i can change your energy state?

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3825
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: Picoscope 3000 Series Problem with USB Connection

Post by Martyn »

Sounds like your remote pc/notebook is sleeping. It may be better, and easier, to prevent this from happening by changing the PC power options.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

Post Reply