PicoScope application is unusable on high-DPI screens

Discussion forum for the Picoscope 6 Linux software
Post Reply
andrejpodzimek
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:11 pm

PicoScope application is unusable on high-DPI screens

Post by andrejpodzimek »

The PicoScope application has always been painful to use, mainly because it doesn't cooperate with desktop environments / style engines. So on my KDE desktop, while all Qt and Gtk applications have one common unified style, PicoScope sticks with its default ugliness. :roll:

I thought this couldn't really get any worse, but now that I've decommissioned my last low-DPI computer (i.e., all my systems have high-DPI monitors, including those that run PicoScope), PicoScope has hit a new unusability milestone. Here you go:
picoscpe_5k.png
There's no way I can use this^^^ properly. To emphasize one important thing again: All other applications (KDE, browsers, IDEs, video players, editors) look perfectly fine on the same setup.

Apart from display problems, the application has other usability issues. For example, there's no way to define keyboard shortcuts, so that one could reasonably operate the application (e.g. at least stop the signal capture) with a probe in one hand. Sure, I should be using triggers instead of trying my reaction time. Here you go, triggers on high-DPI:
triggers_5k.png

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3973
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: PicoScope application is unusable on high-DPI screens

Post by Martyn »

Thank you for the information, we are aware of these issues which will be addressed when we release the next major version supporting Linux.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

Psi
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:36 pm

Re: PicoScope application is unusable on high-DPI screens

Post by Psi »

Same here. Would be very nice to have fix for this.

RTFM@1984
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2019 10:09 pm

Re: PicoScope application is unusable on high-DPI screens

Post by RTFM@1984 »

Same for me. I hope very much a major next release will fix this.

andrejpodzimek
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:11 pm

Re: PicoScope application is unusable on high-DPI screens

Post by andrejpodzimek »

This is still a problem, nearly 2 years later…

nurber
Active User
Active User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: PicoScope application is unusable on high-DPI screens

Post by nurber »

I'm trying a new Linux laptop to hopefully remedy some of the assorted issues I'm experiencing with Windows and a 4444. I would appreciate knowing if there is a way I can increase the size of the icons in latest Picoscope for Linux. I've attached a screenshot for reference.

Sven
Attachments
Screenshot from 2021-05-07 00-33-17.png

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3973
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: PicoScope application is unusable on high-DPI screens

Post by Martyn »

Please see the last post here topic40416.html for news on Linux developments.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

Post Reply