Probe attenuation setting

Post your MATLAB discussions here
Post Reply
rahulbond8888
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 3:22 pm

Probe attenuation setting

Post by rahulbond8888 » Tue Mar 31, 2020 4:36 pm

Hi,
Can any one help me with changing the probe attenuation settings in MATLAB?
When I use 1x probe I can observe the signal very clearly on MATLAB but when I change it to 10x probe the signal is very noisy and un-usable.

I tried the following
1) multiplying the output voltage waveform by 10 but still the signal is noisy

2) Also, I changed the voltage range to the desired range, but still the signal is noisy and un-usable
[status.setChD] = invoke(ps2000aDeviceObj, 'ps2000aSetChannel', 3, 0, 1, 5, 0.0);

Basically, I am using a 2Vpp square wave as input to an RC circuit , but the waveform observed using 10x is un-usable.
Kindly suggest :cry:

Regards
Rahul

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3797
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: Probe attenuation setting

Post by Martyn » Wed Apr 01, 2020 9:59 am

Read the ADC counts from the device, convert to voltages according the range you are using then multiply the result by 10

Please note that if for example you have a 2V signal coming into the device set on the 5V range with a x1 probe, then switch to x10 and apply the above procedure the signal you get will be much noisier. For this case you would change the range to 500mV before you start, select the appropriate range to match the level of signal after it has been attenuated by the probe.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

Post Reply