Synchronizing trigger of pico 6000 and pico 4000

Post any questions about our parallel port products
Post Reply
dehangu2710
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:30 pm

Synchronizing trigger of pico 6000 and pico 4000

Post by dehangu2710 »

Hello,

I am using a picoscope 6000 and 4000 to get some measurement from current probes. I would to get fast datas from the pico6000 and slow ones from the pico 4000. However, i need that both picoscope triggers at the same time. I would like to avoid to divide the measurement by 2 to keep the measures high enough to keep the signal above the noise.
I am getting the datas through python, I thought about :
- triggering the pico 4000 via the pico 6000
- triggering the pico 4000 via python after that pico 6000 has been triggered

In both case, I am afraid that there will be a delay but I hope it won't be big enough to miss the peak of my measure.
Do you think it is possible ? or have you got any other idea which could solve that problem?

I thank you for your answer

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 734
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Synchronizing trigger of pico 6000 and pico 4000

Post by Gerry »

Hi dehangu2710,

Why don't you just connect a Channel of each PicoScope to the same trigger source. Both the 6000 and 4000 series PicoScopes have External Trigger inputs (so you don't even need to use a Signal Input Channel), and if you don't have a trigger source then just use one of the signal Generators on the 2 PicoScopes (connect it to both ext trig inputs) and start the Sig Gen when you want to start the synchronized capture.

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

dehangu2710
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: Synchronizing trigger of pico 6000 and pico 4000

Post by dehangu2710 »

Hello,

First, thank you for your answer. My trigger source is corona discharges, the signal to noise ratio is already small and I try to keep a strong signal. In the case, I don't find any other solutions, I will have to connect both picoscope but it will divide the signal by 2.

When you speak about External trigger inputs, is it the AUX Trigger Input ?

Regards,

Guillaume

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 734
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Synchronizing trigger of pico 6000 and pico 4000

Post by Gerry »

Hi Guillaume,

Yes, the Aux Trigger Input is for External Trigger sources.

If you connect the source to both PicoScopes for Triggering, it shouldn't divide the signal by 2 (unless you have very high impedance outputs) but it may cause distortion of high frequency components in the 6000 series Scope (if that's the case you may get a better capture using the 50Ω input coupling option).

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Post Reply