High current probes for CM3

Forum for discussing PicoLog
Post Reply
vfes1500
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 6:36 pm

High current probes for CM3

Post by vfes1500 » Wed Apr 01, 2020 6:51 pm

Hi,
Could anyone point me in the direction of some probes that I could use with the CM3 data logger, preferably something that I could log up to 1000A AC 3 Phase with but up to 600A would do if there is a massive price difference.

Thanks,

AndrewA
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:07 pm

Re: High current probes for CM3

Post by AndrewA » Thu Apr 02, 2020 1:36 pm

Hi,

Here are range of clamps, note some have BNC connection and not 4mm banana connectors.
You need to use adaptor cable with the BNC connects for the CM3 4mm sockets.

I have not listed prices here, but the passive clamps (no battery) tend to more expensive than the active powered clamps.

Pico clamps-
Active-
https://www.picotech.com/accessories/4-mm-current-probes/600-a-current-probe-4mm
https://www.picotech.com/accessories/bnc-current-probes/30-300-3000-a-ac-current-probe-bnc
3 channel (3 phase)-
https://www.picotech.com/accessories/bnc-current-probes/30-300-3000-a-ac-3-phase-current-probe-bnc

Other clamps-

Active AC/DC clamp-

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/multimeter-current-clamp-adapters/1233224?cm_mmc=UK-PLA-DS3A-_-google-_-PLA_UK_EN_Test_And_Measurement-_-Multimeters_And_Accessories%7CMultimeter_Current_Clamp_Adapters-_-PRODUCT_GROUP&matchtype=&pla-394442157061&s_kwcid=AL!7457!3!243856879802!!!g!394442157061!&gclid=CjwKCAiAxMLvBRBNEiwAKhr-nINfTDEukBtJ9G53FZ9vLP6nqRH7uW2p1MUdbRibK_yLJZcHlu15XRoCtJ8QAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds
RS PRO Multimeter Current Clamp Adapter, 1000A dc, 1000A ac, 51mm
CAT III 1000 V
It provides a 1 mV (100A ac max), 10 mV (1000A ac max), output for each Amp measured.

Passives-

100 mA to 2000 A peak over a frequency range of 5 Hz to 50 kHz.
It provides a 1 mV, 10 mV, or 100 mV output for each Amp measured.
Tektronix A621 Current Probe & Clamp
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/current-probes-clamps/0851218/

BNC connector-
1000A
https://www.fluke.com/en-gb/product/accessories/probes/fluke-i1000s
It provides a 1 mV, 10 mV, or 100 mV output for each Amp measured.
https://isswww.co.uk/fluke-i1000s-ac-current-clamp-1000-a?gclid=CjwKCAiAxMLvBRBNEiwAKhr-nL-R05_iTtfUBP3koTNHS3lem8n69R8YSopjVAuPKWmQLaVP5SGZRRoCT9IQAvD_BwE
Regards Andrew
Technical Specialist

vfes1500
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 6:36 pm

Re: High current probes for CM3

Post by vfes1500 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:23 pm

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for the reply, I decided to go with the RS Pro clamps but unfortunately when I went to use them today they have an automatic switch off after 30 mins. No use if you need to log for 7 days :)
Just thought i'd let you know in case anyone else thinks about purchasing these clamps

thanks

Post Reply