PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Forum for discussing PicoLog
Post Reply
Christoph Klein
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:39 am

PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Christoph Klein »

Hello,
we bought a ADC-24 data logger for long term measurements of OPAMP parameters, but after a couple of days PicoLog 6.1.13 looses the connection to ADC-24 (indicated by the yellow exclamation marks next to the channel configuration).
The ADC-24 ist connected to a Desktop Workstation PC with all possible power saveing features disabled both on the Windows side, and in the PicoLog Software. Also the PC is disconnected from the network to not receive any updates, and is furthermore protected by a UPS.
Earlier Version of PicoLog seemed to have an "Auto (re)connect" feature, but I couldn't find it anymore.
Where can I find it, or what might be the root cause of this problem?

I'd really appreciate some help on this, as I need to run this test for >= half a year without Interrupts.


regards, Christoph

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Gerry »

Hi Christoph,

The latest version of PicoLog 6 (6.1.14) still has the Auto (re)connect feature. The only reasons that spring to mind as to why it would no longer (re)connect and continue the logging are:

1/ The reason it disconnected in the first place hasn't gone away
2/ The drive is full
3/ The program is no longer running (i.e. it has crashed)
4/ You're not running the latest version, and there is an earlier version that doesn't (re)connect (I haven't tested every version)

Could you let us know if you have checked all of these.

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Christoph Klein
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:39 am

Re: PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Christoph Klein »

Hi Geri,

@1/ Since I don't know the reason why it happenened I can't check if the situation still exists
@2/ No, I generate only 90kB of data per day so the free space should last for years
@3/ No, the program is running.
@4/ I had 6.1.13 installed which was the current version when I set up my system. I updated to 6.1.14 now

regards, Christoph

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Gerry »

Hi Christoph,

I'm assuming then that 6.1.14 behaves the same as 6.1.13 on your setup (as you didn't mention whether or not it loses the connection also), and that you have a disconnection that stays disconnected.

So, could you have windows Device Manager open when you run 6.1.14, and look specifically for your device under 'PicoTechnology Instruments' to check that it is showing as connected (without an exclamation mark) then, when it disconnects, could you check Device Manager to see if it is also disconnected from Windows, and then wait for, say, 5 minutes, and then check device manager to see if it is still disconnected, and then finally let us know the outcome, and exactly what message (if any) was displayed when it disconnected (with a screen shot if possible).

Could you also do the following:
Check the USB cable (ensure it is the supplied Pico blue USB cable).
Try running the logger without the UPS to see if there is possibly an issue with that.

If you have got no further, you can also try running PicoLog 5 (which you can download from here: https://www.picotech.com/download/software/sr/PicoLog_r5_25_3.exe) to see if it suffers from the same problem.

Finally, as a workaround, until we solve this, if you could let me know the what approximate earlier version number was for the version of PicoLog 6 that did not drop the connection, I can upload that to cloud storage for you to download and install.

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Christoph Klein
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:39 am

Re: PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Christoph Klein »

Hi,
I updated to 6.1.14 just today so I need to keep it running for a while. I bought the ADC-24 just recently so I haven't used a PicoLog version < 6.1.13 before. The USB cable is the mentioned blue one (built into the ADC-24 and can not be disconnected). The UPS is probably not the issue. I ran the UPS's power check (where it switches from mains to the battery for a couple of seconds), and nothing happened.
I'll report back once the problem occoured again (may take couple days).

regards, Christoph

Christoph Klein
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:39 am

Re: PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Christoph Klein »

So today it happened again, and it shows correctly in the device manager. Any ideas?

regards, Christoph

Christoph Klein
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:39 am

Re: PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Christoph Klein »

unfortunately for some reason I can't upload my screenshot (400kB JPG)

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Gerry »

Hi Christoph,

Could you try running PicoLog 6 from the command line so that it generates a report file as follows:
C:\Program Files\Pico Technology\PicoLog 6\PicoLog 6.exe" --log-all-drivers --log-to-stdout > %USERPROFILE%\Desktop\picolog-trace.txt

...and then post the log file here.

Also, could you try logging with PicoLog 5 (which you can download from here: https://www.picotech.com/download/software/sr/PicoLog_r5_25_3.exe) to see if it's possible to use this as a temporary workaround. (PicoLog 5 has a more convoluted GUI but it also has a guided tour in the help section to get you started).

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Christoph Klein
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:39 am

Re: PicoLog loosing connection to ADC-24

Post by Christoph Klein »

it was running for almost a week and then lost connection again. The software was still running (so no loss of power etc.), but I see the yellow exclamation marks indicating it lost the connection. Then unplug the ADC24 and plug it back in (no restart/reboot) and it continues.

regards, Christoph
-->
Hi Gerry,

thanks for the suggestions, I'll try it asap.
In the meantime I tried it with a Raspberry Pi which was easy to setup btw, but unfortunately it shows the same behaviour --> it was running for almost a week and then lost connection again. The software was still running (so no loss of power etc.), but I see the yellow exclamation marks indicating it lost the connection. Then unplug the ADC24 and plug it back in (no restart/reboot) and it continues.

regards, Christoph