Picolog 6 - where is saved data, and corrupt graph

Forum for discussing PicoLog
Post Reply
martindahlberg
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:23 pm

Picolog 6 - where is saved data, and corrupt graph

Post by martindahlberg » Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:20 pm

Op system: Windows 10
Devices: Picolog1216, TC-08

1. Picolog says it automatically captures data to disk, but where is the data? Not in the default save location ... If you happen to start a new measurement before you manually saved the old, how can you access the old data if you cannot find the file?

2. Graph display is corrupt during measurement - see attached screen dumps. One shows a good graph, but the other (after zooming) is blurred ...
Attachments
2b.PNG
1b.PNG
3.PNG

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Picolog 6 - where is saved data, and corrupt graph

Post by Gerry » Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:16 am

Hi Martin,

Picolog 6 captures the data into a database, and stores the it in a compressed format (i.e. non legible) on disk for storage efficiency (if it were saved in a human readable form the potential size could easily run out of storage on a computer). So, there is no point in making this readily available for the user. If you need to see the data you can just export it into a legible ASCII format file. So you should export the data of an old file if you want to keep it before starting a new capture, and Picolog 6 will remind you of this, if you try to start a new capture without having exported the old data.

2. Could you tell us how you zoomed into the graphs in the top image, and could you post the 2 data files so that we can see what is going on.

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

martindahlberg
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:23 pm

Re: Picolog 6 - where is saved data, and corrupt graph

Post by martindahlberg » Fri May 03, 2019 1:34 pm

Hi again,
Now I have logged (pressed red button, and it was then blinking) 4 channels from two units with 1 s sampling frequency during 3 days (I was out of office). When I returned Picolog had hung, so I had to unplug and replug it. It now displayed "no measurements". No log file can be found in the default storage location. When I try to start a new measurement no warning is given to overwrite previous data. When I tried to save the new data the saving message hung during hours.

So now I wonder how to retrieve my data from the 3 days logging? I cannot find it, and the software neither. Could I find the log database somewhere in the Picolog program folder?
/Martin

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Picolog 6 - where is saved data, and corrupt graph

Post by Gerry » Tue May 07, 2019 3:55 pm

Hi Martin,

Which version of PicoLog 6 are you using?

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

martindahlberg
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:23 pm

Re: Picolog 6 - where is saved data, and corrupt graph

Post by martindahlberg » Thu May 09, 2019 2:11 pm

PicoLog - 6.1.8

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Picolog 6 - where is saved data, and corrupt graph

Post by Gerry » Fri May 10, 2019 9:45 am

Hi Martin,

Unfortunately there is no manual way to recover data from the database (assuming that it hasn't been corrupted by a write at the time of the crash), so if PicoLog 6 can't do it, it isn't recoverable.

PicoLog 6 can't recover from every type of crash, but the latest versions have more protection built in to them (PicoLog 6.1.9 and the 6.1.10 Beta) including using a different database format for logging that doesn't crash under circumstances that the previous one did. All I can suggest is that that you switch to 6.1.9.

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Post Reply