Trying to get a value every ns with: "PS5000AStreamingConsole"

Post your .Net discussions here
Post Reply
KAndreas
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:43 am

Trying to get a value every ns with: "PS5000AStreamingConsole"

Post by KAndreas » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:55 pm

Hello,
i have an impulse to measure with the oszilloscope. The impulse is about 60ns long and it's maximum is 100mV.
With the "PS5000AStreamingConsole"-example i try to get a value every ns, but for the time of 60ns i only get about 10 values.
How can i modify the example to get a value every ns or even more?

KAndreas
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:43 am

Re: Trying to get a value every ns with: "PS5000AStreamingConsole"

Post by KAndreas » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:09 am

Code: Select all

 [size=150]timebase = 1[/size]
        numPreTriggerSamples = 1000
        numPostTriggerSamples = 10000
        totalSamples = numPreTriggerSamples + numPostTriggerSamples

        timeIntervalNs = CSng(0.0)
        maxSamples = 0
        segmentIndex = 0
        getTimebase2Status = PicoStatus.PICO_INVALID_TIMEBASE ' Initialise as invalid timebase


        Do Until getTimebase2Status = PicoStatus.PICO_OK

            getTimebase2Status = ps5000aGetTimebase2(handle, timebase, totalSamples, timeIntervalNs, maxSamples, segmentIndex)

            If getTimebase2Status <> PicoStatus.PICO_OK Then

                timebase = timebase + 1

            End If

        Loop
When i set timebase = 1 console gives me:
"Timebase:1 Sample interval: 2 ns"
How can i get more samples in 2ns interval?

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3469
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: Trying to get a value every ns with: "PS5000AStreamingConsole"

Post by Martyn » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:27 am

The streaming speeds are limited as it is necessary to be able to transfer data over the USB bus continuously without loss. The maximum rates are 125 MS/s (8-bit) or 62.5 MS/s (12 to 16 bit modes).

If you want to sample with a 1nsec interval you will need to use block mode capture, at 8 bit vertical resolution, using only a single channel. See section 3.6 of the Programmer's Guide
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

KAndreas
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:43 am

Re: Trying to get a value every ns with: "PS5000AStreamingConsole"

Post by KAndreas » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:45 am

Thanks, i figured this out.

Post Reply