Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post discussions on applications you are writing
Post Reply
MAX66
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2022 9:10 am

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by MAX66 »

Hello Aaron,

I have a oscilloscope AKIP 4111 which has the same hardware as the Picoscope 5203, but differs in firmware, as it was produced for sale in Russia.
Could you add this oscilloscope model to the list of models supported by the FRA4PicoScope?
I am saving money for Omicron Bode 100. But if AKIP 4111 works with this wonderful program, I think many people in Russia will be very grateful to you!
Thanks in advance,

With Regards,
Armen Mkrtchyan

MAX66
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2022 9:10 am

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by MAX66 »

Hello Aaron,
Here is a list of correspondence of AKIP models to Pikoscope models.
AKIP I Pico I Bandwidth I Ch. N I Res. I
AKIP-4106 I PicoScope 2104 I 10 MHz I 1 I 8 Bit I
AKIP-4106/1 I PicoScope 2105 I 25 MHz I 1 I 8 Bit I
AKIP-4107 I PicoScope 2203 I 5 MHz I 2 I 8Bit I
AKIP-4107/1 I PicoScope 2204 I 10 MHz I 2 I 8Bit I
AKIP-4107/2 I PicoScope 2205 I 25 MHz I 2 I 8 Bit I
AKIP-4108 I PicoScope 3204 I 50 MHz I 2 I 8 Bit I
AKIP-4108/1 I PicoScope 3205 I 100 MHz I 2 I 8 Bit I
AKIP-4108/2 I PicoScope 3206 I 200 MHz I 2 I 8 Bit I
AKIP-4109 I PicoScope 3224 I 10MHz I 2 I 12 Bit I
AKIP-4109/1 I PicoScope 3424 I 10 MHz I 4 I 12 Bit I
AKIP-4109/2 I PicoScope 3425 I 5 MHz Diff. in I 4 I 12 Bit I
AKIP-4110 I PicoScope 4224 I 20 MHz I 2 I 12 Bit I
AKIP-4110/1 I PicoScope 4424 I 20 MHz I 4 I 12 Bit I
AKIP-4111 I PicoScope 5203 I 250 MHz I 2 I 8 Bit I
AKIP-4111/1 I PicoScope 5204 I 250 MHz I 2 I 8 Bit I
AKIP-4112 I PicoScope 9201 I 12 GHz I 2 I 12 Bit I
AKIP-4112/1 I PicoScope 9211 I 12 GHz I 2 I 16 Bit I
AKIP-4114 I PicoScope 6402 I 350 MHz I 4 I 8 Bit I
АКИП-4114/1 I PicoScope 6403 I 350 MHz I 4 I 8 Bit I

Is it possible to add support for all of them?

With Respect,
Armen

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by Martyn »

For information those are all legacy models, that haven't been manufactured for a number of years. Some do not have signal generators, others only have a very simple generator, and two are sampling scopes.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

MAX66
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2022 9:10 am

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by MAX66 »

Hello Martyn!

I agree with you, these are outdated models, but they are all still perfectly supported in the PicoScope software. If we look at my AKIP 4111, we can see, that it's hardware it is much more powerful than the 2204A so vigorously discussed here.

Regards,
Armen

hexamer
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by hexamer »

lazy_electron wrote:
Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:33 pm
hexamer wrote:
Wed Sep 22, 2021 11:39 am
Thank you for reporting your experience. Can you tell me what error code you're getting during initialization?
Sure, this is the error message I see with 5444D scope (serial number obscured **** by me)

Code: Select all

ps5000aSetChannel( 16384, 2, 0, 0, 0, 0 );Fatal error: Failed to disable channel: 290
Status: 5444DMSO S/N: IO716/**** successfully initialized.
Looking a little closer at this now. I think the issue reported by both whichislovely and lazy_electron may be a real issue (not just under-powered USB ports).

In the error reported: ps5000aSetChannel( 16384, 2, 0, 0, 0, 0 );Fatal error: Failed to disable channel: 290

The code is trying to disable channel C (2), which should be valid since power is not applied. Since I don’t see this happening on my PS5444A, it makes me wonder if something is different on a PS5000D scope (both reporters).

Can anyone confirm whether they see this issue on a PS5000D scope? Simply try to connect to your PS5000D series scope with no auxilliary power applied.

mnni
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 7:33 am

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by mnni »

Hi Aaron

I got both an 5000D and 5000A version

And yes there is a issue with the detection of auxiliary Power for the 5000D but i am not sure if it also goes for the A/B versions as i just updated to newest SDK before i stepped on this issue at home, the A version is at work where i used it in a fuel cell stack impedance measurement application where i measure the impedance on multiple cell groups in the stack at the same time with very good results.

anyway i had a brief look in the code when i stepped on to the issue and i think maybe Picoscope have added new functions to detect power status of the scope, but i didn't go more into it than this as i have been busy with other stuff.

bengarbuttchiaro
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2022 1:32 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by bengarbuttchiaro »

Hi,
can you confirm whether this issue makes the FRA unusable with the 5000D series? or that it just requires the external power connected or otherwise.

If there's a workaround I may be looking to buy one of these ASAP, otherwise I'll have to look elsewhere..
Thanks

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by Martyn »

The Set Channel command will return the following error code if the channel is either Chan C or Chan D if the power supply is not connected, even if you are just disabling it

Code: Select all

#define PICO_CHANNEL_DISABLED_DUE_TO_USB_POWERED    0x00000122UL
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

vichiker
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue May 03, 2022 6:18 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by vichiker »

Does this program support the 6403D? I downloaded the FRA4PicoScope_0.7.3b.msi file but I see nothing happens. I do not see where can execute the downloaded file or see any icon where to open the FRA4 window. Thank you so much for your kind help. I am not a software geek. It is very difficult to me to go through this process.

Post Reply