Install for ADC 200 under W10

Forum for discussing PicoScope (version 5)
Post Reply
Bob Mehew
User
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:07 am
Location: Southport

Install for ADC 200 under W10

Post by Bob Mehew »

How can I install Picosoft 5.21.1 (or for that matter PicoLog 5.24.8) under Windows 10 for use with an ADC 200? They both start the installation process but do not offer me a choice of ADC 200. (They ran OK under Windows XP on my old machine.)

many thanks in anticipation

Bob

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 836
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Install for ADC 200 under W10

Post by Gerry »

Hi Bob,

You don't select the device to install for with PicoScope 6, you just install it (without the device attached) then when you attach the device the driver for it should then be installed.

For PicoLog 5 you should be able to just select any device and then click in the checkbox of 'install for all devices', which should include the ADC200 variants.

Also, there are later versions of both software tools on the Downloads page.

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3897
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: Install for ADC 200 under W10

Post by Martyn »

The software will only support the ADC200, and offer it as an option in any menus, if the operating system is 32 bit.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

Bob Mehew
User
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:07 am
Location: Southport

Re: Install for ADC 200 under W10

Post by Bob Mehew »

Thanks for the info. But I am having problems. I am now trying to load PicoScope Ver 5.21.2 onto both a Windows 7 and a Wondows 10 machine and get a message "The file ADC20032.dll failed to load correctly". This appears to stop both PicoScope and PicoLog from seeing my ADC200 using a parallel port to usb connector.

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 836
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Install for ADC 200 under W10

Post by Gerry »

Hi Bob,

Assuming that you have the 32-bit versions of Windows installed (as Martyn mentioned) you should be able to install the driver on WIndows 7, but if it is fully patched you may have to use Windows XP compatibility Mode to do it. For windows 10 you will definitely have to use compatibility Mode (which is explained here: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... b90304d278).

Note that you should uninstall the software and the driver first. After uninstalling the software, you can uninstall the driver by going to the Device manager (from computer management running as admin in Windows 10) right clicking on the driver under 'Pico Technology instruments' and then selecting 'Uninstall device', and then rebooting the machine. If you have made a number of attempts to install different PicoTech software or different versions you may need to repeat the uninstall of the driver (you can check in Device manager if there is still a driver installed).

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Post Reply