Writing Java Applications using the PicoScope SDK and JNI

Post your Java discussions here
Hitesh

Writing Java Applications using the PicoScope SDK and JNI

Post by Hitesh »

We do not provide support for Java in our SDK; however, I’ve been experimenting with writing some code for the PicoScope 2000 series out of interest.

I have been using Netbeans IDE 7.0 with Java Development Kit 1.7 as well as Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition.
  • The Java Native Interface (JNI) Tutorial provides an excellent introduction to using the JNI to call code written in another language: http://java.sun.com/developer/onlineTra ... k/jni.html
  • You will also need some basic knowledge of C or C++.
  • As the dll files themselves do not have entry points for the Java code to access functions, a wrapper dll will be required.
Below are some steps which outline how to open and close a PicoScope 2000 series unit:

1. The Java class:

Code: Select all

// Class to access the wrapper dll functions
public class PS2000JNIWrapAccessor 
{
	//Native methods
	public native short ps2000OpenUnit();
	public native short ps2000CloseUnit(short handle);

//Load our wrapper dll containing native code implementation
	static
    {
        System.loadLibrary("PS2000JNIWrap");
    }

public PS2000JNIWrapAccessor() 
    {
        // Empty Constuctor
    }
}

// Main class
public class PS2000
{
	private PS2000JNIWrapAccessor ps2000JniWrapAccessor;
	short ps2000Handle;

public PS2000()
	{
		// New instance of class with native methods
		ps2000JniWrapAccessor = new PS2000JNIWrapAccessor();

// Call method to open unit
		ps2000handle = ps2000JniWrapAccessor.ps2000OpenUnit();

System.out.println(“Handle: ” + handle);
	}

public short getPs2000Handle()
	{
		return ps2000Handle;
	}

public PS2000JNIWrapAccessor getPs2000JniWrapAccessor() 
	{
        return ps2000JniWrapAccessor;
	}

public static void main(String[] args)
	{
		PS2000 ps2000 = new PS2000();

// Perform some operations with the PicoScope...