Data-logger for engine dynamometer

Which product is right for your exact requirements
serpent

Data-logger for engine dynamometer

Post by serpent »

Hi,
my name is Jernej. For my diploma at the university I'm going to do an inertia dyno and some model engine (3.5ccm) tests on it.

So, I'm writing you, because I need help regarding the measuring equipment I need.
I would like to mesure temperature, revs, power, torque and acceleration of the engine (so I think I need at least 2 channels for temp. and revs) in a specific period of time.
The temperatures of this engines are max 130°C and the max revs 50.000/min.

What about the DrDAQ PC based data logger?
I need something not expensive, because I'm a student, so...

Thanks very much for help.

Best regards

Jernej

markspencer
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by markspencer »

Hi,

The DrDaq is not really capable of this with the sensor that we can provide, since its temperature range is only -10 deg C to 105 deg C on the external temperature, and the internal has a narrower range than that.

To measure the high temperatures that you need you would need to make your own temperature sensor and scaling file. The problem here would be converting the voltage into a temperature reading. It would be made easier if you could get a linear conversion. Unfortunately, I am unable to suggest the type of temperature sensor that would be suitable.

You would also need to source sensors to measure the revs, power, torque and acceleration, these would have to be units that returned a single ended voltage and had comparable voltage rang to the DRDAQ, if they did not the singal would have to be conditioned before it is input in to the unit. Again I am un able to assist in where you will be able to purchase such things from.

Best regards,
Regards,

Mark Spencer

serpent

Post by serpent »

Hi,
thanks for the answer.
Could you please at least advise me what data-logger would be suitable for this kind of aplication?