USB server / USB device server & 32-bit or 64-bit?

Having problems ? let us know the details here
dougxr
User
User

USB server / USB device server & 32-bit or 64-bit?

Post by dougxr »

Hi,
I'm relatively new to using Pico products but have used a different USB 'scope in the past. Now I'm doing some work with a 3424 'scope and have run into an issue. It might be an issue of my own making but if anyone has any ideas they'd be appreciated.
I'm working on a project where the PicoScope will be in a fairly hazardous position so we'd like to operate it remotely. We will have access to a wired LAN type connection between the test area and the control area. One way we could do this would be to leave a laptop with the PicoScope and use Remote Desktop (or similar software) from another computer to operate the first laptop to drive the PicoScope.
Another option is to use a USB device server (sometimes called USB over LAN extender, or various other names). I bought one of these (a Rextron NCNU-H04) and tried it; it behaved a bit strangely but worked fine. However when I tried it on the laptops that we'll actually be using, it didn't work. The PicoScope comes up as USB Device 0CE9, which appears to be a reference to Pico Technology being the manufacturer. I can connect to it but when I start PicoScope 6 the computer crashes, blue screen.
The only difference I can find between the machines that work and those that don't is that the ones that work are 32-bit, all the 64-bit machines crash*. * - I did once get a 64-bit machine working, but don't know how; in that case it listed it as PicoScope 3000 from the very start, I could connect to it, run PicoScope 6, etc. without problems but when I tried moving machines (and back again) it failed again.
A 32-bit machine generally behaves oddly, listing the PicoScope as USB Device 0CE9. But when I start the software it disconnects from USB Device 0CE9 and then lists PicoScope 3000 as available. I connect to that and it works fine.