BUFFERS/ISOLATORS FOR DrDAQ/1012/1016 DATALOGGERS PART 3

Post discussions on projects you are working on
Glovisol
Advanced User
Advanced User

BUFFERS/ISOLATORS FOR DrDAQ/1012/1016 DATALOGGERS PART 3

Post by Glovisol »

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE ARDUINO MICROS

Before proceeding any further with this project, it is advisable to establish a common ground of (hard to get) knowledge and experience with Arduino. I apologise to those experienced who are aware of what follows, but I think this info will be useful to many. Please bear in mind that the discussion which follows concerns ONLY the following Micros: Arduino UNO, Arduino ZERO, Arduino M0 and Arduino M0 PRO. I have no experience whatsoever of the many other Arduino Micros. Arduino ZERO is marketed by Arduino c.c., while Arduino M0 and Arduino M0 PRO are marketed by Arduino Org. All these boards use the same, very powerful ARM Processor, but the Bootloaders and IDES are different, as explained below.

1) IDE SOURCES
Arduino mIcro operation is IDE based. When an IDE is selected and downloaded, not only the basic software, but the Micro drivers, basic software examples ("sketches") and libraries also get to the PC HD. A library is a self contained software module that can be added to a sketch to easily provide functionalities which would otherwise require much heavier software writing. So libraries are very useful. With Arduino UNO the I2C communications are based on the WIRE library (Wire.h). So the relationship between the chosen IDE and the libraries one needs to use is a very important issue.

Another important point to remeber is this: if you have an Arduino IDE resident on the PC and you wish to download another IDE, no matter if same, earlier or later, the System will delete the resident IDE and install the newly downloaded specimen. Two IDES can co-exist on the same PC only if you install a Virtual Machine on it. Further complication is introduced by the Operating System you use, as described below.