Sampling using own software: picolog1216

Post general discussions on using our drivers to write your own software here
aeroplanino

Sampling using own software: picolog1216

Post by aeroplanino »

Hello all,

I am new to picolog - having just come across the 1216 data logger recently. I wanted to ask if it is possible to sample data from devices connected to all 16 channels of the data logger taking one reading from each device in turn for example at a sampling rate of 100µsec per channel?
To extend this further is there even a possibility to take simultaneous reading from all 16 channels for the sake of synchronization?

And which kind of sampling mode would be appropriate for this scenario or is the sampling mode chosen is related to the way I require the data to be transferred to the PC rather than the order of sampling on the data logger?

Hitesh

Re: Sampling using own software: picolog1216

Post by Hitesh »

Hi aeroplanino,

The maximum sampling rate in continuous streaming mode is 100 kS/s shared by all channels when using the SDK so you should be able to use the pl1000SetInterval function to specify a total number of samples between all channels in a specified period of time to achieve 10kS/s. Please note that the driver will not return the actual sample interval used.

The driver will populate an array with the data values collected from each channel in sequence e.g.

Ch 1, Ch 2, Ch 3, Ch 1, Ch 2, Ch 3 and so on.

Unfortunately it is not possible to collect data from each channel simultaneously.

If you are looking to collect a number of samples greater than that available in the memory of the device, I would suggest using streaming mode capture.

Hope this helps.

aeroplanino

Post by aeroplanino »

Hi Hitesh,