PICOSCOPE 3206A transient noise

Having problems ? let us know the details here
Epa

PICOSCOPE 3206A transient noise

Post by Epa »

Hello,

I'm new to Pico Scope and i'm using picoscope 3206A for transient measuremets, with the help of Tektronix P6015A high voltage probe. I'm just trying to familiarize with the devices and measuring switching transients. Every time i get a transient (or even pure 230v supply wave directly provided into the scope, reducing to 1000x) i get a noised signal like here
The screen print i got.
The screen print i got.
Please tell me how i can obtain smooth (without noises, i mean just a single line sine wave) sign al using the probes and scopes i have. I tried a lot. DO i have to make my own external filter for this simple task ?

Thanks in advance.

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: PICOSCOPE 3206A transient noise

Post by Martyn »

Which version of the Picoscope software are you using ?

You can apply a low pass filter, or use Resolution Enhancement, from the Channel Options menu to smooth the waveform.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

Epa

Post by Epa »

Thanks for the reply. I'm using the version "picoscope 6".
What you mean by,
Martyn wrote: You can apply a low pass filter, .
is it hardware filter to make or software side thing to do using the same version ? Can you please provide me guides to make it ? any documents :o :shock:

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Martyn »

It is in the software you have. Click on the Channel Letter with the Arrow on it "Channel Options" and you should see it listed
Martyn

Epa

Post by Epa »

Thanks a lot. Sorry for my sometimes late responses cz I'm a part time researcher.

I tried it working. but seems the software stucks at above 3kHz.

Epa

Post by Epa »

Ok now i got cleared the signal from noices and have smooth sinal. Transients are even better. But the two more problems arisned.