DrDaq interface with the real world

Post general discussions on using our drivers to write your own software here
sbillett

DrDaq interface with the real world

Post by sbillett »

Hi

Question 1

I am writing an appilication to control the PH in a Marine Fish Tank in VB, Is it possible to interface more than one PH probe to a DrDaq board ie through one of the ext ports ?

Question 2

Can anyone advise me on how to use the Digital Output off the DrDaq Board I can switch it on and it supplies 4.5 Volts But I presume the Ampage is to low that is why it wont open the relay on my PLC.

I presume I will need some form og line driver to increase the out put, But I am not an electronic engineer (Help) :cry:

Thanks in advance

Steve

matthew
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by matthew »

Hello Steve,

Its not really possible to change the External channels into a PH probe input. The main reasons for this are that the PH Probe is bi-polar (approx. ±576mV) and the Ext inputs are unipolar (0 to 2.5V). Also, the PH input is heavily filtered, so you would need to apply this filtering yourself.
I would not take this on unless you are reasonably confident with electronic circuit design.

The current through the Digital Out is supplied by the PC, and it is usually very low. You could use an external power supply and an amplifier, but again, you would need to be reasonably confident in electronics (sadly we don't have any circuit designs for this here).

Sorry I can't be more optimistic with this :(.

Kind Regards,
Matt Everett

Pico Software Engineer

sbillett

Marine PH control

Post by sbillett »

Hi Matthew

Sorry had the flu bug, so I was not checking my mail. Thanks for the info.

I really need to test for 2 pH values so I will enlisting one of my electronic enginner friends to help convert the Voltage input 0-5V into a second pH port. I presume that this port is also unipolar but 0 to 5 Volt

Questions.