Need VB6 examples for ps3000 scopes

Post your VB and VBA discussions here
billw

Need VB6 examples for ps3000 scopes

Post by billw »

Hello all,

I'm new to PicoScope, and specifically to the PS 3404B, in fact, I don't even have the scope yet in hand.

What I need are programming examples in VB/VB6 (even VBA), At this point, anything will help. Specifically, I need to measure a current and voltage waveforms for an automotive control module. I need to trigger on the rising edge of the current waveform, then measure the value at a delayed value from that point of triggering. Of course, this is a simple task done manually, but programmatically, that is a different story.

Edit: In previous versions of the PS3000 SDK, they included a VB example. Unfortunately, the current SDK (ps3000a r10.5.0.19) does not. If anyone has those, please pass them along (ps3000.vbp/.bas/.frm). I know it will need modification from ps3000 to ps3000a calls, but its a start.

I looked at the PS3000 programmers guide, but it's of course in "C" format (us VB guy's get no respect :cry: ). I can probably decipher most of it, but having code examples in VB will go a long way to filtering through the differences in declaration and usage. For example, I would assume the "C" version would be converted as such in VB.

"C" Declaration

Code: Select all

PICO_STATUS ps3000aGetTimebase
(
short handle,
unsigned long timebase,
long noSamples,
long * timeIntervalNanoseconds,
short oversample,
long * maxSamples,
unsigned short segmentIndex
)
"VB" Declaration (pulled from Excel VBA example)

Declare Function ps3000aGetTimebase Lib "ps3000a.dll" (_
ByVal handle As Integer, _
ByVal timebase As Long, _
ByVal noSamples As Long, _
timeInterval As Long, _
ByVal oversample As Integer, _
maxSamples As Long, _
ByVal segment As Integer) As Integer
Of course, the "C" function(?) "PICO_STATUS" is clear as mud as far as usage. I assume its the same as the calling format:

Dim handle As Integer
Dim status As Integer